Page 1 of 3

player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:52 pm
by Skull Kid
This was kind of a handy command. It changes the current hitpoints of the player, but it only seems to work in multiplayer. When I try it in single player, even by using the player.active command, followed by my player id, it doesn't work at all in single player.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:13 am
by Swaffy
My guess is that certain commands are server based and not client. Local server counting as that.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:17 am
by Skull Kid
I see. Well, not much I can do about it then.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:26 pm
by Skull Kid
I'm also right now trying to make the console show my vehicle ID, without typing "object.listobjectsoftemplate" and then the objects name.

Anyone who can come up with a solution for this, I'd be extremely grateful!

NOTE: This is for Single Player.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:26 pm
by Skull Kid
I finally got the player.vehicleHp to work! The player.active command only "seem" to work with one argument, in other words, a name without any spaces. Not even quotation marks seems to help… strange.

EDIT: It can be partly fixed when naming yourself with the alias name "yourname", then re-naming yourself to whatever, and you are still the selected player. But for bots, I have no clue on how to select them.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:04 am
by russ
Super stubborn

var v_name = "Z Fighter"
player.active v_name

Doesn't even work.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:36 am
by Skull Kid
Hmm... need to do further troubleshooting with this...

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:24 pm
by Diamondback
Var v_ID = 10
Player.active v_ID ?

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:07 pm
by russ
Classical Modder wrote:Var v_ID = 10
Player.active v_ID ?
The console object for this one uses a ostream/istream class for parsing to/from an IPlayer* and an std::string. If overloads operator>> and operator<< to then do the actual lookups. Unfortunately istream tokenizes input. There's no way for a space to get past it without modifying the code.

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:42 pm
by Diamondback
This is still a great discovery. Well done SkullKid! player.active can be used for many different applications. Time to try out the code.

If you want to make it work for bots then rename the bots name in the Skirmish.con file so that they do not have a second name. That would eliminate the problem with the player.active command.