Bots are too stupid!

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
Post Reply
Ruuga
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:25 pm

Bots are too stupid!

Post by Ruuga »

So I'm making a mod where is UsSoldiers vs. German zombies and Germans are bots. But this is so annoying. Those German-zombies can't walk up the stairs. And also UsSoldier-bots just stay in the upper floor and don't come down.

Picture:
http://i31.tinypic.com/2ynmpf9.png

When I'm the zombie same happens but 1 of the UsSoldier-bots can come down.

So what should I do? I hope you understanded because English is not my native language and so it's hard to me express my self.

EDIT: And the zombies should run to the flag, and the flag is above them in the upper floor.
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Bots are too stupid!

Post by Apache Thunder »

Is the flag directly above them on the above floor? The bots simply think they are next to the flag. The pathfinding system for this game is 2D in nature. Thus your limited to how you can have bots navigate 3D structures like buildings. So you can't have a 2 floor building with a flag on the top floor. The bots will never make it to the flag because they will reach the floor under the flag and then think they are at the flag. This is because the stratagic areas are also 2D and they have no setting to define their "vertical" position ingame.

You could alter the pathmaps so that the only way to the flag is to go up the stairs. This means you can't allow the bots to pass under the flag/strategic area from the floor below otherwise they will then think they reached the flag and will just sit there. ;)
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
Ruuga
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: Bots are too stupid!

Post by Ruuga »

Ok. Thanks, now I'll now how to solve this problem!
Nodbrother
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bots are too stupid!

Post by Nodbrother »

You might think you know how to solve it, but have you got the tools to do so?
User avatar
Dennis|8749236
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: #2

Post by Dennis|8749236 »

yep, you can see... in StrategicArea.con u only found 2 numbers to define position
example:

Code: Select all

aiStrategicArea.create AX_Base 53/100 78/125 197
What is the meaning of Life?? (Don't think about it!)
User avatar
HJGF
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:28 pm

Re: Bots are too stupid!

Post by HJGF »

look at my zombies :D Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Dennis|8749236
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Bots are too stupid!

Post by Dennis|8749236 »

change this :

Code: Select all

ai.setVehicleBehaviour Infantery MoveTo GotoWaypoint2d 4 0
to this... i guess it will work...

Code: Select all

ai.setVehicleBehaviour Infantery MoveTo GotoWaypoint3d 4 0
also adjust the StrategicAreas...
What is the meaning of Life?? (Don't think about it!)
Post Reply