Preparing your map within 3dMax

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
fo0k

Preparing your map within 3dMax

Post by fo0k »

Apache.. ;)

I have some experience working with maps within 3Dmax for custom terrain objects.. and have on occasions managed to import static placements etc.. however, the scales of everything usually get fo0ked up and I have never been sure of the best lighting settings etc if I import the light positions too etc..

Basically I wonder if you could share a step by step tutorial on how to get everything in max ready for lighting etc? I'm presuming you have now done this 100's of times :)
Apache Thunder

Re: Preparing your map within 3dMax

Post by Apache Thunder »

I found the easiest way is to import all the meshes you need in one scene at 0.1 meters scale, then save as a max file. Then change the scale to 1.0 and reopen the max file. When it asks you if you want to adopt file scale or rescale, choose the rescale option and save the resulting max file again. Then they should be the correct size when put into a map. (using the replace option in Max). The same can be done with the map it self in case the rexman script you use to set up the objects for lightmapping gives them the wrong scale position settings in the element name for each object. (the element name gives the object each the position settings needed for the file name of each eventual tga file) So if you get a mismatch in scale, you can rescale either your map or your object's collection max file to correct it.

Also recently I found that LightingMap is the best element type to use for objects. To avoid unlit surfaces from being to dark, simply add a "Skylight" to your scene and adjust it's color setting. for my night maps, they used 38/38/38 RGB value for the skylight. ;)