DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:46 pm
DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
I have Desert Combat Final (DCF). It works great, mostly. The one big problem I have with it is something I asked about several months ago but never really got a complete answer to: the Battle of Britain map's objects. Basically, the Battle of Britain map for DCF--at least the version I have--seems to be a mix of vanilla BF1942 and DCF. When the map is generated, it has the vanilla briefing, the DCF soldiers and kits, and the vanilla vehicles--it has jeeps, Spitfires, and Ju88s, for example, rather than MiG-29s, F-15s, M1A1s, etc.
I used the Mod Development Toolkit to examine the .rfa files and was unable to find any reason for this. The objects and object templates for the BoB map all contain the modern vehicles, yet the World War II vehicles are what spawn when the map is launched. Is the map drawing from the vanilla templates instead? Is there a way to correct this using the Mod Development Toolkit?
I also wondered if I had to launch the map from the DCF RtR or DCF Secret Weapons mod instead, as they seem to run a bit better. (For instance, the DCF Wake Island map gives me nothing but ctds if loaded from standard DCF, but runs great in RtR w/o any ctds.) But RtR and Secret Weapons have the same problem.
Has anyone else run into this problem or does anyone know how to fix it? Do I have an older version of DCF that needs to be patched/updated? Is there a way to use Battlecraft to put in the DCF objects manually? (If so, does anyone have the DC and DCF object files for Battlecraft handy?) Maybe this is just how DCF was designed and there's no way around it...I just hate to think of the US and Iraqis battling it out with World War II-era aircraft!
Thanks!
I used the Mod Development Toolkit to examine the .rfa files and was unable to find any reason for this. The objects and object templates for the BoB map all contain the modern vehicles, yet the World War II vehicles are what spawn when the map is launched. Is the map drawing from the vanilla templates instead? Is there a way to correct this using the Mod Development Toolkit?
I also wondered if I had to launch the map from the DCF RtR or DCF Secret Weapons mod instead, as they seem to run a bit better. (For instance, the DCF Wake Island map gives me nothing but ctds if loaded from standard DCF, but runs great in RtR w/o any ctds.) But RtR and Secret Weapons have the same problem.
Has anyone else run into this problem or does anyone know how to fix it? Do I have an older version of DCF that needs to be patched/updated? Is there a way to use Battlecraft to put in the DCF objects manually? (If so, does anyone have the DC and DCF object files for Battlecraft handy?) Maybe this is just how DCF was designed and there's no way around it...I just hate to think of the US and Iraqis battling it out with World War II-era aircraft!
Thanks!
check the folder "GameTypes" and then for example "Conquest.con" if thats whats not working
in there the ObjectSpawnTemplates should be called to run by the game, it can be a spelling error somewhere
this is from the orig bf42 map
edit: theres also a Conquest.con directly in the map folder, could be worth to check that one to
in there the ObjectSpawnTemplates should be called to run by the game, it can be a spelling error somewhere
this is from the orig bf42 map
Code: Select all
rem *********************************************
rem Created by BattleCraft '42. Copyright (c)2003 Digital Illusions CE
rem *********************************************
Game.setNumberOfTickets 1 100
Game.setNumberOfTickets 2 100
Game.setTicketLostPerMin 1 4
Game.setTicketLostPerMin 2 1000
run Conquest/SpawnpointManagerSettings
run Conquest/SoldierSpawnTemplates
run Conquest/SoldierSpawns
run Conquest/ObjectSpawnTemplates
run Conquest/ControlPointTemplates
rem run ai v_arg1
run Conquest/ObjectSpawns v_arg1
run Conquest/ControlPoints v_arg1
Code: Select all
rem *********************************************
rem Created by BattleCraft '42. Copyright (c)2003 Digital Illusions CE
rem *********************************************
Game.setNumberOfTickets 1 100
Game.setNumberOfTickets 2 100
Game.setTicketLostPerMin 1 4
Game.setTicketLostPerMin 2 1000
run Conquest/SpawnpointManagerSettings
run Conquest/SoldierSpawnTemplates
run Conquest/SoldierSpawns
run Conquest/ObjectSpawnTemplates
run Conquest/ControlPointTemplates
rem run ai v_arg1
run Conquest/ObjectSpawns v_arg1
run Conquest/ControlPoints v_arg1
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:46 pm
Re: DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
Thanks Freddy!
I checked them, and they are completely identical. Perhaps that's the problem? Shouldn't DCF be pulling its objects from DCF and not from the original game? It also weird that the soldiers are all DCF soldiers (Iraqis and Americans).
What should I try next?
Thanks!
I checked them, and they are completely identical. Perhaps that's the problem? Shouldn't DCF be pulling its objects from DCF and not from the original game? It also weird that the soldiers are all DCF soldiers (Iraqis and Americans).
What should I try next?
Thanks!
well i just realised that if there´s something wrong with the dcf map so it doesnt read the ObjectSpawnTemplates.con file and lets say you find the problem and correct it, well then all the players gonna need a patch with the same fix to. or else they gonna get booted as they perhaps not have the same spawners running as the server has.
if you just run dcf and not interested in org bf42 (atleast when it comes to the BoB map) then i suggest you try making a patchfile from the bf42 version of the map,
in the patchfile change the vehicles to dcf vehicles, but be sure to keep the orig spawnernames
may wanna try with just changing one vehicle first and see how it works out.
if you just run dcf and not interested in org bf42 (atleast when it comes to the BoB map) then i suggest you try making a patchfile from the bf42 version of the map,
in the patchfile change the vehicles to dcf vehicles, but be sure to keep the orig spawnernames
may wanna try with just changing one vehicle first and see how it works out.
Re: DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
I know that Battle of Britain has a lot of Objects folders in its files. It has map-based things in it such as the Ju88A.
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:46 pm
Re:
Yeah, it used to be when I played LAN games that any time I changed a map, I had to keep sending updated folders back and forth to each of my friends' computers. These days, I just play by myself--Instant Action or Campaign mode. I can't even play online anymore due to that stupid PunkBuster issue with it not updating properly! PunkBuster doesn't even support 1942 any more!
As far as making a patchfile, I am not even sure how to do that or how that would fix this issue. Perhaps the version of DCF I downloaded was old or corrupted? If you play DCF, where did you get yours?
Thanks!
As far as making a patchfile, I am not even sure how to do that or how that would fix this issue. Perhaps the version of DCF I downloaded was old or corrupted? If you play DCF, where did you get yours?
Thanks!
freddy wrote:well i just realised that if there´s something wrong with the dcf map so it doesnt read the ObjectSpawnTemplates.con file and lets say you find the problem and correct it, well then all the players gonna need a patch with the same fix to. or else they gonna get booted as they perhaps not have the same spawners running as the server has.
if you just run dcf and not interested in org bf42 (atleast when it comes to the BoB map) then i suggest you try making a patchfile from the bf42 version of the map,
in the patchfile change the vehicles to dcf vehicles, but be sure to keep the orig spawnernames
may wanna try with just changing one vehicle first and see how it works out.
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:46 pm
Re: DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
Would this mean the objects are "hard-coded" into the map? BoB came out after the original 1942. In fact, you have to manually add it to the CampaignList if you want it included in the campaign. Maybe this is the reason for my issue?
Thanks!
Thanks!
Swaffy wrote:I know that Battle of Britain has a lot of Objects folders in its files. It has map-based things in it such as the Ju88A.
- Apache Thunder
- Posts: 1210
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
- Location: Levelland Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
Did you try having the spawners use DCF vehicles? It may be that they simply did not update the spawners for the map. You can change most or all of them to spawn DCF vehicles instead. This is server side too so you don't need to send the files to your friends or anything as changing vehicle types for the existing spawn templates is certainly possible for a server side mod.
I have cameras in your head!
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:46 pm
Re: DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
Apache Thunder wrote:Did you try having the spawners use DCF vehicles? It may be that they simply did not update the spawners for the map. You can change most or all of them to spawn DCF vehicles instead. This is server side too so you don't need to send the files to your friends or anything as changing vehicle types for the existing spawn templates is certainly possible for a server side mod.
I gave that a shot too, and I still end up with the same result: vanilla aircraft and vehicles. It's almost as though the map is pulling its objects directly from vanilla 1942 and doesn't even recognize the DCF objects.
Is it possible I am using a version of DCF that is either incomplete or corrupted in some way? It says it's DCF final Beta 3.0 (is that the latest version?), and I got it from filefront.com. Should I try to download it from some other site like cnet.com?
If you play DCF, does your version have the correct planes and vehicles for the BoB map? Where did you get yours?
Thanks!
Re: DCF Battle of Britain Objects Problem
I actually started a thread about this not to long ago as I had the exact same issue, It is still unresolved as I spent alot of time trying to figure out why it has vanilla 42 vehicles. Anyways since I dont have the answers to that for you I can definately help you out with your PB issue to get online and play .
Go to this link , they have it all nicely explained and files right there to get you back online.
http://teamdisciples.com/forums/viewtop ... =41&t=5756
Go to this link , they have it all nicely explained and files right there to get you back online.
http://teamdisciples.com/forums/viewtop ... =41&t=5756
Nodbrother- "getting whiped every single game by some over-active 9 year old kid with too much spare time and a reaction time that is a third of yours."