Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
judgedr
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:56 am

Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by judgedr »

Hi.

If you adjust the default FOV to over 1.0 then it'll mess up a lot of vehicles that uses a HUD? overlay made for 4/3 and standard FOV.

I search the net about this issue, but nobody even mentioned this issue when discussing FOV changes. So I found this place in hopes for reaching a conclusion, at least. Maybe it can be fixed, maybe not. But I'd like to know.

Thanks.

This is what I am talking about if it's not clear.

Image
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by Apache Thunder »

Most of the vehicle huds in this game are 3D Meshes switched on via a LOD system. Since it's not a simple texture, fixing it won't be a simple task. You'll either need to edit the mesh so it's closer/wider, or alter the camera position for the 1p HUD so that it's closer to the mesh.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Vilespring
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 5:47 am
Location: Somewere in the United States

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by Vilespring »

I would say just scoot the HUD closer, but it might go through the camera before it fixes the problem.
A picture is worth a thousand words, but takes up three thousand times the memory.

Area 51: http://battlefieldarea51mod.weebly.com/

Image
"I didn't steal your pizza"
judgedr
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:56 am

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by judgedr »

Thanks for the replies, guys.

@Apache Thunder

Okay, if it's that hard to fix properly then that's likely why nobody made such a fix. I personally know very little about BF modding.

About camera. Wouldn't adjusting the the camera for the 1p view also zoom in a soldier's 1p view, too? So it'd be kinda pointless, right? I mean, you could just as well then just use 1.0 FOV in that case, no?

I guess another solution would be to remove the meshes, but that'd be kinda lame.

@Vilespring

I'm not sure I understand this, but maybe you could explain further? How can I scoot the HUD closer? Are we talking about the camera, FOV or another thing? Bare with me. :-)

FOV 1.3333 for my 16/9 screen is the perfect spot, but lowering it as part of a solution would be acceptable, too. Anything higher than 1.0 would be nice, really.
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by Apache Thunder »

Vehicle cameras are separate objects from the soldier object. Moving them won't effect soldiers. Nor will they effect other vehicles since each vehicle has it's own camera and even if they shared the same camera, they can each still have the camera positioned differently since it's the host object that defines their position. ;)
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
judgedr
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:56 am

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by judgedr »

Great. :) It doesn't sound too complicated. Maybe I could do it.

Can you give me some pointers as to how I can edit the camera for any particular vehicle?

Like, which file(s) is needed to be edited for any particular vehicle's camera position? Which tools should I use, etc.

I wont ask for a step-by-step, of course, but a few pointers would at least get me started.

Thanks
User avatar
Vilespring
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 5:47 am
Location: Somewere in the United States

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by Vilespring »

you need the MDT as a starter, and uncompressed Objects.rfa
the US haftrack is called the M3A1, and I'll plop the code down about the camera, from its Objects.com (oh, .con files open with notepad!)

Code: Select all

rem *** M3A1Complex ***
ObjectTemplate.create Bundle M3A1Complex
ObjectTemplate.geometry M3A1_Hull_M1
ObjectTemplate.hasMobilePhysics 1
ObjectTemplate.hasCollisionPhysics 1
ObjectTemplate.hasResponsePhysics 1
rem -------------------------------------
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate lodM3A1Cockpit
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Seat
ObjectTemplate.setPosition -0.419/0.3/0.95
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Camera  <------ here it is!
ObjectTemplate.setPosition -0.609/0.64/1.42   <----- just change the X/Z/Y coordinate
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Entry
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0/0.13/2
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Entry
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0.0/0.13/0
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Browning_PCO1
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0.5/1.25/0.67
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1FrontDoor
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0.92/0.13/1.38
ObjectTemplate.setRotation -27.999/0/0
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1FrontDoor
ObjectTemplate.setPosition -0.919/0.13/1.38
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1BackDoor
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0.35/0.4/-2.749
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1SupplyDepot
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0/0/-1.1
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1VehicleSupplyDepot
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0/0/0
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1_Passanger_PCO2
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1_Passanger_PCO3
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1_Passanger_PCO4
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1_Passanger_PCO5
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Wheel1
ObjectTemplate.setPosition -0.449/0.15/3
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Wheel1
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0.45/0.15/3
ObjectTemplate.setRotation -179.999/0/0
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate M3A1Engine
rem -------------------------------------
keep in mind, for some unknown reason, the setposition code uses X/Z/Y, not X/Y/Z! :lol:
A picture is worth a thousand words, but takes up three thousand times the memory.

Area 51: http://battlefieldarea51mod.weebly.com/

Image
"I didn't steal your pizza"
User avatar
Swaffy
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Cibolo, Texas

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by Swaffy »

[EDIT] Okay, I'm seeing the problem here. Yes, you would need to move the vehicle's camera forward, just like Vile said in his post.

Code: Select all

0/-/- Right and Left
-/0/- Up and Down
-/-/0 Forward and Backward
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by Apache Thunder »

As for the setPosition, postive numbers on X axis move object to the right while smaller/negative values set it to the left. Positive numbers for going further up on Z axis and negative/smaller numbers go down on Z axis.

On Y axis (the one you will be changing in this instance), positive numbers move the object foward while smaller/negative numbers move the object forward. So in this case you'll need to gradually move the camera forward by making the Y axis number larger then the original number. But only do it in like 0.1 or 0.2 increments since the amount you need to move it won't be much.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
judgedr
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:56 am

Re: Increasing FOV messes up vehicle HUD. Any solutions?

Post by judgedr »

Image

This is the result. It's perfect. :)

Thanks for the pointers guys. I appreciate the help given.

The sweet spot for the M3A1 is very close to 1.485 which was also the value used in this image. FOV value was 1.3333.
Post Reply