"Rem" out lines in SSC files

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
Post Reply
User avatar
Swaffy
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Cibolo, Texas

"Rem" out lines in SSC files

Post by Swaffy »

Is there a way to remove [rem] a line in the sound files?

I know that in C++ programming, putting two forward slashes (//) will rem out a line, and in the normal BF1942 coding, adding "rem" will rem a line, but what about the sound [.ssc] files in BF1942?
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Post by freddy »

looking throw some files i see they have isolated some text with a # and also * so i guess if a line doesn´t start start with a command or function it´s just ignored.

Code: Select all

####################
### Engine Start ###   <------------------
####################
load @ROOT/Sound/@RTD/mstngnstrt.wav
minDistance 1
volume .7
dopplerOff
priority -2
*** Distance Volume ***    <------------------
beginEffect
	controlDestination Volume
	controlSource Distance
	envelope Ramp
	param 30
	param 80
	param 1
	param -1	
endEffect

User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: "Rem" out lines in SSC files

Post by Apache Thunder »

If you check the debugger logs, you will find that there is in a technical sense, no rem line coding for SSC. The debugger will mention in the logs that the ### stuff and everything following it is invalid and the like. Completely harmless though since it doesn't cause crashes or anything and does have the intended effect of disabling a line of code after it.

But in a behind the scenes sort of way, the game doesn't actually recognize them as rem code like with the beginRem/endRem or the lone rem code in the object template coding.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Swaffy
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Cibolo, Texas

Re: "Rem" out lines in SSC files

Post by Swaffy »

Okay, that makes sense. It seems like the game uses multiple coding languages.
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
Post Reply