Toggle Parachute?
Toggle Parachute?
I remember, a few years back, being able to turn off the parachute after deploying it; pretty much being able to toggle it on/off.
Anyone know how this can be done? Is it in the EXE, or can it be changed?
Anyone know how this can be done? Is it in the EXE, or can it be changed?
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
- Apache Thunder
- Posts: 1213
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
- Location: Levelland Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Toggle Parachute?
I recall there being a trick to making something like this work with BF2's parachute since it's coded more like a vehicle then BF1942's parachute. Unfortunately there is no way I know of that could make this work in BF1942. Even making the parachute a destructible child object won't work. Once the parachute is active, you will still float down instead of falling, even if the parachute dies and the mesh disappears. 




I have cameras in your head!
Re: Toggle Parachute?
Could spawn an invisible platform below player to die after a second ? Heheh.. Would look a bit fail I guess.
heres the code to the old paradisabler, perhaps you can adjust th code to work like a on/off button.
Code: Select all
ObjectTemplate.create ActiveKitPart Paradisabler
ObjectTemplate.OverrideAirMovementInhibitations 1 <--------- this where the magic happens, it needs a new flux capacitor regulator
ObjectTemplate.setBoneName HipPack
ObjectTemplate.setCopyLinksCount 0
ObjectTemplate.Active Jap_Medic
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate Paradisabler
- Apache Thunder
- Posts: 1213
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
- Location: Levelland Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Toggle Parachute?
There is an unused code that can turn on and off the passive acceleration of the active kit part (basically it turns the entire engine off and on and even the hud element will vanish when turned off I believe.
Just map a key to this command:
It accepts the same key codes like the throttle code and weapon fire commands and such.
Set the parachute key to it for example and I believe you might be able to get something similar to what you're trying to do.
For example use this if you want to use the "use" key (the key used to pick up kits which is G by default) as the activator key:
Just map a key to this command:
Code: Select all
ObjectTemplate.setActivater
Set the parachute key to it for example and I believe you might be able to get something similar to what you're trying to do.
For example use this if you want to use the "use" key (the key used to pick up kits which is G by default) as the activator key:
Code: Select all
ObjectTemplate.setActivater c_PIUse



I have cameras in your head!
Re: Toggle Parachute?
Where would I put the code at?
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
- Apache Thunder
- Posts: 1213
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
- Location: Levelland Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Toggle Parachute?
In the ActiveKitPart object. (The ParaDisabler objects Freddy posted earlier)



I have cameras in your head!
Re: Toggle Parachute?
When using that code, I cannot use the parachute at all. In fact, I just float to the ground and die.
- -
Could this work?
ObjectTemplate.Active Parachute
ObjectTemplate.setActivater c_PIUse
- -
Could this work?
ObjectTemplate.Active Parachute
ObjectTemplate.setActivater c_PIUse
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
- Apache Thunder
- Posts: 1213
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
- Location: Levelland Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Toggle Parachute?
No unfortunatly. The Parachute object is nothing more then a normal AnimatedBundle object that gets displayed when the parachute is first activated. "Parachute" is the name of the object the game is hardcoded to use as the object to display when the soldier deploys it. I was able to get the parachute to show up in 1p view by simply making the "Parachute" object a lodObject with the lodSelector system normally used for the HUD meshes on tanks and other vehicles. the lodObject simply had two copies of the AnimatedBundle alternate for the Parachute that animated just like the original and such. 
The parachute drag and fall speed are separate code lines coded in either the commonsoldierdata.inc file or the soldier's object.con file. (the code lines work only for the BFSoldier class)
The ActiveKitPart system was the only possible way to toggle parachutes. If that doesn't work, there isn't anything else I can think of that would make it work that way. Sorry.

The parachute drag and fall speed are separate code lines coded in either the commonsoldierdata.inc file or the soldier's object.con file. (the code lines work only for the BFSoldier class)
The ActiveKitPart system was the only possible way to toggle parachutes. If that doesn't work, there isn't anything else I can think of that would make it work that way. Sorry.




I have cameras in your head!