adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
Post Reply
Baraun
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 9:53 am

adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by Baraun »

I had this thread originaly on IS82.com but they advised me to come here. :)
This is my first time i'm using 3ds max for games. I'm all a bit new to coding but i'm a quick learner.
This is the progress sofar. But it came to a halt because when i copy my map into my bf1942 map directory the game wont boot anymore. Is there a Log or console? to check what cause boot failure.?

I found this moddel and spend a couple of hours manualy reducing the poligons.
I have all the meshes setup (col1 col2 shadow_mesh LOD01-06) in one .SM file


Image

Image

I spend a couple of hours to get to know uvwmapping a bit better. I rarely use it for work because we just apply architectural standart textures...

Image

A lot of sweat and tears to get 2 unwraps propperly in their channel (learning the hierachy of invisible 3ds mechanics...)

Image

So here is a crappy texture for this overrated bmw wich i must have spend over 20h (way to much) on now.

i believe i should have come to the part where i assign engines wheels and boosters?

Edit**update25/05/2012

Image

Do i honestly have to manualy look for the coordinates and copy them into the notepad? Is there no export vehicle function i'm missing. :)
I'm doing this moddel based on the "cobra". What i did was importing the Cobra. (i did this a long time ago to scale my LOD1 before uvmapping and everyhting) I removed the Cobra's hull and placed my LOD1 i alligned all the helpers and leftovers from the cobra's import. I see similarities between the names of the helpers and names of the notepad. But it is getting a bit confusing to say the least. I'm following [link=hyperlink url]http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/ ... into_b.htm[/link].
But the Codes for the Cobra difers in some ways , he seems to have only 3 "lods" but they are called diferently.
I might sound a bit noobish but editing such code i haven't done before.

the locations of objects 0/-5.2/17 in the notepads are they x/y/z or x/z/y? i fear i havent seen the last of it yet lol.

Now on to the next tutorial => how to use ED42. ;-)

I have followed the 40 minute tutorial on using ED42 twice by FoOk. I got a map thats similar with 2 vehicles, a pond and some african houses. I tested it and it runs in BF1942 standart game. But when add the custom vehicle the game wont launch anymore

I then followed http://home.earthlink.net/~dweller_bent ... adding.htm

It has left me with slight frustation. :) because the game just doesnt launch when my custom map is in the map directory

It seems that my mesh must contain errors. Is this possible? This time i just added the hull as a static object to the map with this http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/ ... for_ba.htm . And this is basic stuff. So constructive thinking leads me back to the sm file ... But how could the moddel file stop the entire game from starting up?


-So here I am asking where could i have made a mistake? is it possible that the moddel the .sm file is not made correctly?

Kind regards, Baraun
Last edited by Baraun on Mon May 28, 2012 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by freddy »

Hi unfortunately i dont know much about modelling vehicles but i can reccommend you to try using the debugger if you dont have it already.

you set the game to run in windowed mode and start it with the debug exe, it should report any errors in the code.

http://www.shacknews.com/file/4460/batt ... executable#

good luck :)
User avatar
fo0k
Posts: 1434
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by fo0k »

Baraun, that is becoming a very long first post :) feel free to just reply to your post with updates. it will make it easier for people to read through.

You seem to be getting on very well I think. custom 3d models and especially vehicles are an advanced task to try and accomplish as a new modder to bf1942.

x/z/y . heheh .. its strange at first.

could you post, in brief your specific questions or problems and that will make it a lot easier to help.


Also, perhaps post a link to the non working map and we can have a quick look!

We will be able to help for sure.
Baraun
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 9:53 am

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by Baraun »

Atm I have a completely messed up map because i tried so many diferent tutorials and when i copy it into my interstate map folder the game wont launch anymore. I wondered if .SM files could contain faulty 3d moddels?
I have tried the debugger but i cant get it to start in windowmode , only the standart bf1942 starts in windowmode when i change the videodefault from 1 to 0.

I am going to take a diferent aproach this time.
I'm going to take a map where there is a custom vehicle added in the map. My custom .SM file will be renamed to the corresponding name of the original vehicle.
I'm going to change 1 bit at a time until i have my vehicle in that map without having to change code. (I know that the vehicles wheels will be in the wrong spot because the location xzy might be diferent compared to the original hull)

Would this be a good idea to check if my mesh is loadable?
User avatar
fo0k
Posts: 1434
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by fo0k »

I wouldnt say it was impossible to make a mesh that would crash the game.. but I am surprised if yours if the problem.

you are using the MDT 2.75 version?

Could you perhaps link me to the model (either here or via pm if you like) and then we can at least establish whether it is causing an issue.
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by freddy »

Baraun wrote: I have tried the debugger but i cant get it to start in windowmode , only the standart bf1942 starts in windowmode when i change the videodefault from 1 to 0.
one other thing you can try is to run your files in a dedicated server, its not the same as the debugger but it will report some problems

Image
GoodDayToDie!!
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Bat Country, California
Contact:

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by GoodDayToDie!! »

On a side note: I don't believe you have got your Interstate82 files set up for battlecraft yet? Ultimately, once you get that dialed in you can make test maps for the is82 mod... Can;t wait to see your working work!! :D
Image
Baraun
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 9:53 am

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by Baraun »

I have the MDT 2.75 and i use winrfa out of it to compile my rfa map files
and i use ED42 in my c:BFDEV<bf1942<levels for save files

The dedicated server launch menu doesnt pop up/load/startup whenever i have my map in the map folder

Maybe tonight i will have time to work on it again. Otherwise my next attempt/work will be this weekend.
I have been working/converting building moddels for my custom map. Ill try to add these aswel since they are static moddels and dont require much code.

kind regards,
User avatar
mistamontiel
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact:

Re: adding my first custom moddel to a map...

Post by mistamontiel »

BGA seems much more convenient, rather than winrfa. And ya, I've used both, check it

http://code.google.com/p/bga/
Post Reply