Page 1 of 1
AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 7:43 pm
by Handicap
I have multiple times tried to change the barrel velocity of the AA_Allies object, or Bofors 40mm AA-gun if you wish to call it so. Every time I increase the velocity of the shot, the shot no longer explodes around the planes. I have tried to change the ProximityFusePrimer and explodeNearEnemyDistance but it hasn't helped. In the end I have just reverted the object back to it's previous settings. Has my brain farted made me miss something vital or is it just that the shot must fly at speed 300 or it won't explode from promixity?
Oh and how come the flak effect isn't visible farther away even if I edit the associated LOD values from the effects-directory? Is the gun hard-coded?
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 10:24 pm
by freddy
i have used .velocity 400 on .projectileTemplate Flak38_Projectile in a gun i made and that worked fine
Re: AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 3:34 am
by Apache Thunder
Proximity bombs/projectiles don't seem to work properly when the velocity exceeds 400. The Shilka from DesertCombat originally had exploding projectiles, but they disabled them for this same reason. No way around this unfortunately.

Re: AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 4:36 am
by Swaffy
It has to do with its sensory system. The projectile needs to be near the plane long enough to "sense" that the airplane is there in order to explode.
If the projectile is moving over ~400 BFFPS [Battlefield Feet Per Second], it will not be near the plane long enough to "sense" its presence.
That's my guess.
Re: AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 12:33 pm
by Handicap
Code optimization makes sense. Guess I'll have to do with 400.
Re: AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 4:39 pm
by Swaffy
You can probably set it at a high velocity and add a "shotgun" effect, with making multiple fireArms positions set at 0/0/0 and an accuracy of about 1.5 or 2.
Then, make sure there is only one tracer round per shot. [If there's 4 fireArms positions, set the tracer template to go off once every 4 rounds.]
Once that's done, you can make the "poof" of smoke go off on impact [like the explosion from a tank shell or rocket launcher].
... just an idea.
Re: AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 5:31 pm
by Handicap
Swaffy wrote:You can probably set it at a high velocity and add a "shotgun" effect, with making multiple fireArms positions set at 0/0/0 and an accuracy of about 1.5 or 2.
Then, make sure there is only one tracer round per shot. [If there's 4 fireArms positions, set the tracer template to go off once every 4 rounds.]
Once that's done, you can make the "poof" of smoke go off on impact [like the explosion from a tank shell or rocket launcher].
... just an idea.
Relatively good idea, but I'll leave aside the duct tape -contraptions. Most FW maps are tightly packed, or at least somewhat tight, so the velocity 400 vanilla-style AA-gun could be enough. But still, that's a good idea.
Re: AA_Allies barrel velocity
Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:16 pm
by Bongholio
works for me local host on wake (lead ahead of the planes a little)
rem *** AA_allies firing & projectiles hack ***
ObjectTemplate.Active AA_Allies_GunBarrel
ObjectTemplate.reloadtime 0.5
ObjectTemplate.roundOfFire 9
ObjectTemplate.velocity 600
ObjectTemplate.addFireArmsPosition 0/0.02/0 0/-0.7/0
ObjectTemplate.addFireArmsPosition -0.02/0/0 -0.4/0.7/0
Now if I could only find out what I broke on battle of britain but who wants to sift thru 80 cd's of archives
