Page 1 of 1
Server side Mod (all maps)
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:11 am
by Machi
Hi!
i have been reading the server side modding tutorials but i cant find how to do this. I Want to add better tracers to the game, but just doing a mini server side mod (no mod required on client side). Is this possible?
Re: Server side Mod (all maps)
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:30 am
by Swaffy
Yes. But first, create your own mod. After doing that, you can copy the tracer template from bf1942.
Objects.rfa/Objects/Stationary_Weapons/Common/Objects.con
Look for "Tracer_Projectile"
What do you want to change about the tracers? Their damage tables? Size? Color? Name? Effect?
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:04 pm
by freddy
Hi Machi. Unfortunately the answer is no. The effects and how they look (like tracers) is all depending on what files the clients has, so if you want to change it they must download the changed files in order to be able to see it on there screens.
Machi wrote:Hi!
i have been reading the server side modding tutorials but i cant find how to do this. I Want to add better tracers to the game, but just doing a mini server side mod (no mod required on client side). Is this possible?
Re: Server side Mod (all maps)
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:29 pm
by Senshi
You can:
Change controlpoints
Change vehicles
Change spawn points
Change vehicle code (physics, armor, weapons etc.)
Change all kind of code (mag size, mag no., reload time etc.)
You can NOT:
Add any new sounds
Add any new graphic content whatsoever (be it effects, new textures, new static objects etc.)
Rule of thumb:
Anything that has to do with codes can be changed SSM (almost)
Anything else: No.
There are exceptions, but in most cases this is true.
Re: Server side Mod (all maps)
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:36 pm
by Machi
I have changed only code, i want to add some particles to the tracer (copied sprites from other effects).
I have already made the mod, but if i want everybody to use this new tracer, they all have to have the mod. As the mod is only 2 .con files changed in objects.rfa, i wanted to make it a server side mod, so the people that play on my server can have this tracer instead the original without downloading anything.
Seshi if i understood right anthing that shows "on screen" isnt server-side moddeable?
Re: Server side Mod (all maps)
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:24 pm
by Machi
Well, i have been reading a lot on server side modding. Seems its possible to add a SSM mod to all the maps played by modifying the objects.rfa as it says here:
http://battlefieldmodding.com/ssm/phpBB ... 04a51db6af
I have been trying to do what i wanted to do in the first place, wich is to modify an already existant effect (like e_rocketFume). To do this, i have to modify an effect bundle, an emitter, a particle, etc. The problem is that using "objectTemplate.Active e_rocketFume" seems to crash the game at start and using "objectTemplate.Active effect bundle e_rocketFume" seems not to modify anything. The same happens with emitters and particles. So what i think i would need is an extensive explanation (may be a good tutorial or guide) on what objectTemplate.Active and objectTemplate.setActive can and cannot do, how to use them, where to, etc...
Has someone came up with such a resource?
PD: I found a problem that might be aproppiate to mention to all newbies. the mod wizard in MDT 2.75 is actually broken and lacks the part that changes all maps ids so they can be compatible with your mod. Use the mod wizard that comes with 2.5 instead, that one works ok.
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:11 am
by freddy
You can make changes directly in the servers Objects.rfa and also Game.rfa and as so it will affect all the maps the server is running.
theres is limits in what you can do though, for example it works fine to change a garand to use a mg projectile or even lower or higher the fire rate of a mg, whilst if you try to change magSize or numOfMag you can be in alot of problems depending of weapon (on some you can change a bit but others just crash the game)
some of this changes the client can see in game, like if i give the bazooka a magsize of 6 it will show ingame because of the netcode it has atached to it
Code: Select all
ObjectTemplate.create HandFireArms Bazooka
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo HandFireArmsInfo
but if you look at an effect code like the e_rocketFume it has no netcode at all, thus the server cannot communicate the changes you have made to the players.
Code: Select all
ObjectTemplate.create EffectBundle e_rocketFume
ObjectTemplate.saveInSeparateFile 1
ObjectTemplate.timeToLive CRD_NONE/7/0/0
rem -------------------------------------
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate Em_rocketFume_Smoke
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate Em_rocketFume_Fire
rem -------------------------------------
the same goes for as far as i know all of the effects in battlefield.
if you really want this to work you have to make it downloadable and propably you have to set your server on running unpure but thats something i cant really recommend.
cudos for trying tho
