Page 1 of 2
need help with stupid bots
Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 3:59 pm
by freddy
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 6:43 pm
by Swaffy
You should probably look in:
Objects/Vehicles/Air/PLANE_NAME/AI/Objects.con
That might have something to do with it. It seems like the two videos have different airplanes, perhaps they have different AI coding and/or different flight physics. Two things I learned about flying AI is that [1] they can't fly helos worth their digital life, and [2] they fly and aim better when using slower and more responsive aircraft.
I tried to connect to your server, but it has PunkBuster and I need a CD key. Bleh. Sometimes I wish I was using my CD instead of the No CD crack.
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:20 pm
by freddy
mm you may be onto something there swaffy, ill swap the planes and see if it helps.
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:00 pm
by freddy
I swapped the fighters for the sbd-t and aichi-t, limited the amounts of planes and put the ai spawners directly on the planes so they should always have both a pilot and a rear gunner.
Now atleast i get some gunfire from the reargunners so i guess thats an improvement, for the planes ai i link to the original files
xample
Code: Select all
include ../../../../../objects/vehicles/air/zero/ai/objects.con
include ../../../../../objects/vehicles/air/zero/ai/weapons.con
so i guess its something else needs tuning? i guess ill just keep thinkering with the files and see if i can learn how it works.
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:46 pm
by POTAmatt
Hey Freddy. Glad to see you guys still messing around wih this stuff. I still do in my spare so i don't forget what the hell i'm doing. Yeah, bots are a bunch of dumbasses until they get some motivation. The first thing they do is stand around waiting for instructions to go somewhere. If they don't get assigned a strategic area to go to because the strats are no good or the strategic areas (SA's) are not properly defined, the SAI runs out of time with that bot and procedes to the next for more waste of time. If that's okay, then the bot needs to figure out how to get there via the pathmaps and neighbors. If those are not properly setup, it's on to the next bot for more time wasting. The point is, if all your AI templates are properly setup, then they are probably standing around in a daze because of one of the above reasons. I'm guessing this a Coral Sea map or something similar? The sea maps always take quite a bit more consideration, especially Coral, because there are no actual control points. Not that they are required for AI, but Strategic areas (land maps typically have their SA's setup exactly the same as their control points) have to be setup so when the number of attacks and defenses are determined, the bots are then assigned to those areas. For various incarnations of Coral Sea i've done, i usually setup SA's at Sea so the boats have areas to attack and defend in addition to SA's on land so troops have a place to go. If the problem is troops standing around on ships, then there are more considerations: 1) set the soldier to ItNaval so it will at least fire over water and 2) Touch up the pathmap for infantry becuase he's probably standing on a no-go area (white) and is trying to figure out how to get somewhere. Anyone of the above reasons will make the bots completely useless. Let me know if there is something i can do to help. I can either walk you through AI debugging so you can see where the bots are assigned and what their behaviour is, or wrap up the map and i'll take a look at it in my spare time. Matt
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:09 am
by fo0k
good to see ya Matt!
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:03 pm
by POTAmatt
Hey, whats happenin! Good to see some things never change! Bots haven't outlived me, yet. I just hate to see them dedicated to burning up someones CPU time doing nothing. LOL.
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:37 pm
by freddy
Hi Matt. yeh still thinkering around some with the ol bf42

havent really found any game to replace it with yet. theres no ai files for coral sea so i use some i found on the net, the stupid thing is i havent got those files anymore and i know there was like two different coop maps, long time ago now but some careybear map/modder i think was one of them. cant find it on the net now tho.
feel free to look at the map if you want, but theres no need to put down a lot of time and energy in this thing, it may never really get used its just me lill curious how things ticks.
http://bfoutlaws.com/maps/

Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:34 pm
by POTAmatt
Cool. Yeah, i started out with that careybear plug in way back when but slowly changed it through the years as i began adding the fleets to Coral and using it as a test map when i was trying to get the torpedo boats to work. Once that happened, i started adding subs and pt boats to everything. LOL. I could easily give you my old SSM of Coral if you like. It includes all the AI torpedo functionality i concocted through the years, but plugging that AI into your map might not give you what you want. We'd probably be better off if i downloaded your map to get a feel for what your doing and see what's hanging it up. In your clip, I saw a few bots standing around on deck and that's probably the issue since they probably have nowhere to go and no way to get there. Keep you posted. Matt
Re: need help with stupid bots
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:26 am
by POTAmatt
Hey Freddy, It looks like the main problem for the bots are the few adjustments made to the two planes they're spawning into - the bf109 and the spitfire:
ObjectTemplate.Active BF109Engine
ObjectTemplate.setTorque 13
rem******** Spitfire engine ************
ObjectTemplate.Active SpitfireEngine
ObjectTemplate.setTorque 13
ObjectTemplate.Active Spitfire
ObjectTemplate.inertiaModifier 3/3/3
ObjectTemplate.Active BF109
ObjectTemplate.inertiaModifier 3/3/3
aiTemplatePlugIn.active BF109Mobile
aiTemplatePlugIn.maxSpeed 35.0
aiTemplatePlugIn.turnRadius 15.0
aiTemplatePlugIn.active SpitfireMobile
aiTemplatePlugIn.maxSpeed 35.0
aiTemplatePlugIn.turnRadius 15.0
They're struggling just to stay airbourne. Comment out that code at least temporarily and see if it helps. Without it they were blasting me off the decks and out of the sky. Besides that, there were a lot of smaller issues that are currently filling up your debug log. I've seen this plug in before and it is as bad as it gets. The worldsize is incorrectly set to 4096 and because of that, the pathmaps are hosed. If you're interested in any of the extra tweaks, let me know and i can send the updated map back to you, but removing the above tweaks should solve your immediate problem. Matt