Page 1 of 2

Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:21 pm
by smurf118
Hey all.

Sorry that I keep creating new topics, but I am intrigued about how to do all this modification stuff. Unlike the bulk of the modders on this forum, I intend to keep it simple and just add DC vehicles and some other objects to personal mod which my friends and I shall use.

Now, I have Battlecraft 1942, a wonky version of BC42 and I also have the Battefield Mod Development Toolkit. Hopefully these are all I require. Now, I have used the mod wizard to create my own modification - It is called My_Mod until I figure out how to do this properly- and I selected to include DC in the mod. After opening the folder containing the mod, I discovered nothing... No DC . What do I have to do to include the DC object, sound, texture files etc in my mod?

Also, how do I set up Battlecraft 1942 to accommodate this so that I can create maps? When I get to the section where you choose the path for which your mod or whatever will take, I cannot find a suitable path.

Please help!

Yours,
Smurf

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:00 am
by Swaffy
- We have some great info on the ServerSideModding backup site. You can find the link on the main page.
- Go there, and click the link that says "Search".
- Search "create mod".
- Find the topic named "Help wth creating a mod, basics".

Hope this helps.

[edit] I was having a bad day.

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:23 am
by Vilespring
You could go back a bit (as in literally, scroll down a bit) and see "Moving the FH matilda to bf1942." Just replace FH with DC, and matilda with vehicles, and it means the same thing, right? Take a look at it, it *might* be useful.

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:02 am
by freddy
smurf118 wrote:Hey all.
What do I have to do to include the DC object, sound, texture files etc in my mod?
Hi. One way to pull objects from other mods, add the mods in your mods init.con
example

Code: Select all

game.CustomGameName My_mod
game.addModPath Mods/Aftermath/
game.addModPath Mods/BF1942/
Cant do any advanced stuff with this i guess, but its fast and easy

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:13 pm
by smurf118
I have no idea on how to add and remove the techy code from one thing to another... I am pretty young - I will not state my exact age, for obvious reasons-, so it baffles me, but thanks for the info. I will post here again if I have more issues! :D

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:35 pm
by Vilespring
I'm relatively young and I understand every bit of the techy code almost. You just need to study the codes a bit, and screw things up. :D
also, get the debugger, it tells you what you messed up.

Getting to what you asked, try loading a map in the the debugger executable, then press "~". This cute little button puts up a prompt that lets you do stuff, only in the debugger. When doing that in your mod, try typing "Game.spawnObject M1A1" in the prompt, press enter, and see if you have an Abrams tank in WW2.

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:58 pm
by smurf118
Right...

Uh, to add that code for the M1 into BF1942, what do I have to do.. and where does one find that debuggery thing? :D

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:40 am
by Vilespring
http://www.shacknews.com/file/4460/batt ... executable

the steps you did should work, just type the command in-game and see if it works

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:35 pm
by smurf118
What program must I use to open the VideoDefault.con file? Also, what program for all those other ones. I have downloaded the debugger as well

Re: Creating a mod and adding DC to it

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:59 am
by Vilespring
It is the most complicated program in the world. so complicated that you will faceplam with the answer. The extremely high tech program is notepad. :D
This high tech program can look at most files in bf1942 (cons, RS, and SSC.)