Page 1 of 2
Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:37 pm
by fo0k
I remember trying to sort this a long time back and failing. This is another thing that affects us interstate mod folk with racing maps. The chase cam lags way behind on the faster vehicles. In the attached pic you can see the difference when the car is stationary and when at full speed. (its not that fast actually... maybe twice a willy top speed, if that.)
How can I retain 'some' spring in the movement of the chase cam but limit how far off it drags. Ideally I want a view similar to the stationary view at all times regardless of speed.

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:17 am
by Apache Thunder
Have you tried the "objectTemplate.outsideHudOffset" command? (it's a vector 3) I used it on my mini RC tank.
You can try replacing chase cam with this. (it works like chase in that you use C key to switch to it) Unlike chase cam distance will never change so it won't be as fluid as the normal chase cam. This will work on any vehicle and even on soldiers.
Other then that I don't see a way of changing the chase distance of the normal chase cam.

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:50 am
by fo0k
are you talking about nose cam essentially? but placing the offset behind the car instead of on the nose?
I am familiar with setting up nosecams as they are also v useful for driving maps. when you say replace chase do you mean that or just adding nose cam..
or something else?

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:15 pm
by Apache Thunder
Yes essentially. The "nose cam" can be made into a chase cam of sorts by adjusting the position so it is behind instead of in front. The game considers it a second camera position so you switch to it like you would a normal one like the chase cam or fly by cam.
You could disable chase cam and replace it with the nose cam in this instance. But as I said it would not end up behaving the same as a chase cam in how the camera moves with the object.
Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:26 pm
by fo0k
Yeah I have tried this route previously but it kinda fails. Especially when the car rocks about... You loose your feel of the whole thing
I noticed a 'hastarget' command but I'm guessing this is for the player.. Any idea?
I can't believe (well of course I can..) that the camera stuff is hardcoded
should be more control over them.
Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:43 am
by Apache Thunder
The only place that command is used on is the soldier camera. I have not played with that command yet so I don't know what it does.
Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:27 pm
by fo0k
Hey, would this work? (Ill try it but just want to put it outr there for thoughts..)
Add templating a camera to an existing camera... like the attached pic.
I realise the cam would be in front of the car at rest... but lets not worry about that for now.. just the principle that Im thinking on... :O
For my use this is so when the camera drifts back from a car at speed.. this new cam would replace its original position giving a closer view of the vehicle even at speed.. Maybe this kind of approach could work in some way for the Heroes mod too?
edit: I think this is a little crazy actually.. but still.. I vant a solution!.. crazy thoughts usually end up with sensible ones.
Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:03 pm
by Apache Thunder
I tried addtemplating more then one camera at one time. The game seems to just ignore the new camera. I don't recall which one it would use. But it will either always use the first one addtamplated or the last one. Just don't recall which.
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:22 am
by freddy
here“s a idea, i know this code works as i have used it myself (works ssm to)
now i went throw and did a search on camera in all of the "bf code" i have on my computer, i just copied and pasted it all so there might be dublettes and such.
this lines i think would be in my first try to figure out what they do and if its possible to activate/change values
Code: Select all
ObjectTemplate.cameraDelayTime
ObjectTemplate.cameraDelayDistance
ObjectTemplate.useCameraOrientation
moveActiveObjectToCamera
moveCameraToActiveObject
and heres the rest
Code: Select all
setForceCameraToGround
setCameraHeight
setCameraPosition
setCameraRelativeMinRotationDeg
setCameraRelativeMaxRotationDeg
shadowsNearCamera
getRendCameraPosition
getRendCameraRotation
attachCamera
attachCameraCycle
setDebugFreeCameraEnter
setBeforeSpawnCameraPosition
setCameraBlink
serverFreeCamera
serverDeathCameraType
spawnAtCameraPosition
game.serverDeathCameraType
game.serverFreeCamera
c_PIToggleCameraMode
c_PICameraMode4
c_PICameraMode3
c_PICameraMode2
c_PICameraMode1
c_PIToggleCamera
c_PICameraY
c_PICameraX
PIToggleCamera
PIToggleCameraMode
GESetTempCamera
setPoseCameraPos
fireInCameraDof
soldierCameraPosition
setFireCameraShakeAnimationState
CameraShakeTriggers
vehicleCameraShake
cameraShakeFactor
dice.ref2.world.Networkable.FreeCamera
FreeCamera
EnableFreeCamera
freeCameraBaseSpeed
freeCameraSlowSpeed
freeCameraFastSpeed
dice.ref2.world.ObjectTemplate.FreeCamera
EnableFreeCamera
dice.ref2.world.ObjectTemplate.Camera
useCameraOrientation
ObjectTemplate.fireInCameraDof 1
ObjectTemplate.soldierCameraPosition
ObjectTemplate.vehicleCameraShake
ObjectTemplate.CameraId
setCameraShakePitch
setCameraShakeYaw
setCameraShakeRoll
setCameraShakeLeftRight
setCameraShakeUpDown
setCameraShakeInOut
setCameraShakeFadeIn
setCameraShakeFadeOut
setCameraShakeMinFactor
setCameraShakeTimeToShake
Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:34 am
by Apache Thunder
The first and next 3 commands look the most promising. The ones after that are related to the Editor class and won't help much in this instance. The others seem to be related to AI and other things though I haven't looked through them all.